The Beginning

Well, started this new year out talking with my mother about ideas I had for working towards a better budget, zero-waste and cooking for 3 different eating styles (though I only touched on two of the styles). My sister came to mom’s door and hollared, “HAPPY NEW YEAR!” and I hadn’t even realized it was that late. I’m still attempting to figure out why I’m awake. I’m tired, I know I am but yet I am awake. Oh well.

I don’t make resolutions anymore. It’s not that I think they are lame or that I think myself too old to do them. It’s because it finally occurred to me (after I don’t know how many years) that the word “resolutions” comes from the word “resolve”. To me the word “resolve” is negative. I have resolved to do something. Does that not make you feel like you have no choice and therefore you are doing what you do not wish to do? It does me. Heck, like I’m resolved to the fact that our new president just very well may launch a nuclear warhead at someone. Ugh!

Anyway, back on topic. So, I’ve decided to use action words. Yes, a “buzz phrase” has been used! AAAAAHHHHH! Run for the hills! (lol) Sorry, couldn’t resist. Yes, action words. I will accomplish. I will do. Those types of phrases, you know? There are no resolutions, there are only goals. “Do. Or do not. There is no try.” A quote from the great Yoda. I have been saying this more and more as of late. So, better start walking the walk if I’m going to be talking the talk.

My Goals – 2017

  1. Get my suburban fixed.
  2. Open a savings account.
  3. Work on my recipe creation for a cookbook.
  4. Create & maintain a health-filled life.
  5. Live a more conscious & conscientious life.
  6. Find out who I am.
  7. Find different ways to hold myself accountable.

I think these goals are good. They provide a good outline, giving me room to expand as needed. So, what are your goals for this coming year?

2 thoughts on “The Beginning

  1. My goals are to take things day by day. I am not perfect (shocker, I know) and I am going to make mistakes, many mistakes. But I will pick myself up, dust myself off, and keep moving forward. I will be the best “me” that I can be. With that being said I am a work in progress. There are going to be times when I feel like I just can’t do it. It’s during those times that I will remember this saying … You are stronger than you know, smarter than you believe, and braver than you feel. As long as I keep pushing forward, then there is no failure.

    Like

Leave a Reply

