Beginning of Zero-Waste

Wow! Today was really off. Not every day is going to be great, I know this. It’s not that today was bad. In fact, it was kind of good. But it was off because we (the entire household) are not sleeping well and Cedar Fever season is starting to kick up. Sister is already 100% at its mercy. I’m not far behind. I can feel it, but I think doing the Golden Milk every morning is helping keep it at bay. I don’t know.

My food today was not even worth mentioning. I was all over the place and eating food that I shouldn’t eat. The chicken sandwich is something that I will be feeling for the next couple of days. I’m going to have to come up with some dishes that I can make in abundance for those nights/days that I have no energy to cook. I have some ideas. What about y’all? Remember, except for my slack these past two days, I eat a plant-based style.

I wanted to talk about what I’m doing to get to a zero-waste life. I started late last year by reusing the bags that I had to get (plastic) when I would do my bulk shopping. Luckily the market I go to for majority of my bulk lets me reuse those plastic bags. I also contacted two other stores that I shop at that have bulk bins and one denied me the use of using my own containers. I was super pleased that the other market said that I was more than welcome to bring my own containers. I just have to make sure that I stop and get the TARE weight to make sure I get charged correctly. I love going to this market because their produce is fantastically priced! So, YAY!

A friend of mine is great to me because he knows I don’t spend money on myself that much. It was a big thing for me to purchase a new clothing item today. It didn’t cost that much, but it was brand new! Ugh! Anyway, he sent me my stainless steel reusable straws!!! Yay! I’ve already been using them and loving them! I am on my way – reusable straws, reusable containers/bags for produce and bulk shopping. I’ll get there. If I can do it, anyone can.

Wondering if I shouldn’t double up on my Golden Milk. What do y’all think? Leave me a comment with your thoughts/ideas/questions. Peace.

One thought on “Beginning of Zero-Waste

Leave a Reply

