Dumpster Diving Denied – Wah!

4/2

Dumpster Dive – 2 heads of iceberg lettuce; approximately 1 ½ pounds green grapes

4/3

Well, it happened. Management came out and asked me not to DD anymore. Of course, what the heck was he doing there at midnight when the store closed at 10 – I don’t know. Nothing like being made to feel like you were doing something wrong by rescuing perfectly good produce from a landfill. I don’t understand our society when it comes to waste. I did manage to rescue 1 hatch pepper, 3 tomatoes and 1 beautiful apple without blemish.

There is so much waste that hits our landfills daily. Are we, as a society, so blind to what is going on in our country – heck, our world – that we would allow people to starve instead of sharing our wealth? It literally hurts to drive by that dumpster (almost on a daily basis) knowing that I’ve been told no. I know what goes in there. It sucks. But I will find another location. I will continue saving foods from the landfills it just may take me a little time to find another location. Though the next closest store is at least 45 minutes away. Either way – Wish me luck!!!

Peace and love, my friends.

Leave a Reply

