Month of May – Part 1

OKAY – I DON’T KNOW WHAT HAPPENED. THIS WAS SUPPOSED TO POST IMMEDIATELY AND IT DIDN’T SO HERE IT IS… This should make Part 2 make more sense.

May is going to be a busy month. I’m going to do a 28-Day Plastic Purge Challenge that I found on Pinterest. I’m also going to be doing the LBL Challenge from May 1st – 5th, Living Below the Line (poverty line).

First I want to talk about the plastic purge challenge. I recently, since December 25, 2016, had to use plastic jugs to bring 12 gallons of water to my home every day. Don’t worry, finally got the water heater back up and running about 2 weeks ago.  During that time, I started noticing a change in the taste and smell of the water in the jugs. Yes, we reused the water jugs the entire time. That’s when it started occurring to me the damage that plastics can do to our foods and drinks. It’s rather scary. So, here is the break down over the 4 weeks of the purge:

WEEK 1: Focus on Food Storage (Stop plastic chemicals from leaching into your food.) – Recycle old plastic storage, use less cling wrap, upgrade your water bottle, get a water filter, swap baggies for beeswax wrap, get plastic-free food storage, be wary of “BPA-Free”

WEEK 2: Re-Think Your Garbage (Smart practices to keep plastic out of the trash.) – Use mindfulness to buy less plastic, BYO takeout containers, Line trash cans with shopping bags, Dump wastebaskets into larger trash, be your own trash compactor, shop for stuff with less packaging, compost

WEEK 3: Clean Up Your Hygiene (Banish plastics from your bathroom.) – Swear off microbeads, DIY skincare products, DIY “packaged” food, ditch plastic cookware, enjoy French press coffee, no bags – carry it out by hand, get an ice cream cone

Now these are all great ideas. Some may seem more daunting than others but you can do it. Though, if you are like me and working towards zero waste – you won’t recycle your plastic containers. You will use them until they are no longer functional. Personally, I use some of the ones that I have for so many other things than food storage. In fact, I prefer my glass containers. That’s another thing – I have glass containers, but aren’t their lids like a rubbery-plastic? I’m not sure. I’ll have to do more research on that one. So, I will be doing the best I can and working out a way to be less plastic oriented in how I live. I’ll give a weekly update just like I did with the 30-Day No Spending Challenge.

Stay tuned for my next post that will be talking about the LBL Challenge. You won’t want to miss that.

Peace and love, my friends.

Leave a Reply

