Living Below The Line – Day 1

Today, May Day (Beltane), was the first day to begin both challenges I’ve set for myself., the 28-Day Plastic Purge and the Living Below the Line Challenge. There is one thing that I need to rectify though. I thought that the amount for the Living Below the Line Challenge was $1.75 per day. It is not. It is $1.50.

Now, I’ve taken into consideration that most of us that live below the poverty guidelines, set up by our government, go to food banks to supplement their household grocery budget. I’m grateful for the fact that I have one that I can go to on a weekly basis and it’s run by a 7th Day Adventist church so the food that they offer is vegetarian at least.

For my first meal (breakfast) I decided to go ahead and batch cook the bag of rice that I had received from the food bank. I can see that being a big staple through these next 5 days. I dished out about 1 ½ cups of rice and added the sautéed sweet potato (small one), ½ of a yellow squash and 1/3 of a zucchini. A little salt, pepper, onion powder, garlic powder and dried parsley flakes finished it off. I even had enough left over for another meal.

Well, it appears that my allergies are ruining my appetite today. Looks like I’ll just be eating the same thing as I did earlier. Not a bad thing, mind you. Just going to add ¼ of an avocado to it to get a little healthy fat going.

So my total for today: $.66 (only two meals)

  • Rice – Free
  • Yellow Squash – .20
  • Zucchini – .09
  • Sweet Potato – .21
  • Avocado – .12
  • Seasonings – .04

18290162_10154258887845670_571077337_o    18236734_10154258887470670_1336923701_o

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Peace and love, my friends.

Leave a Reply

